Top News

Colchester Tuesday

Barkley - Contributed

It was -3C at 6:30 a.m., and today’s high will be around 4C, with a 30% chance of showers or flurries, dropping to -4C, with a 60% chance of flurries, tonight.

Tomorrow will include flurries or showers with a high around 4C, and an overnight low of -7C.

Today’s stories

Bob Gloade re-elected as Chief of Millbrook First Nation

Truro woman's Coldest Night walk raises over $3,000

Colchester Sexual Assault Centre receives funding

Bible Hill man facing charges for possession of cocaine

'Home free' defence attempt fails for Tatamagouche woman

Cougars take bronze at JV hoops provincials

Plenty of Pets

Hi, my name is Barkley. Some say I’m a Pomeranian, some say I’m a Spitz – maybe
I’m a cross?!
I am middle aged, but still very active. I am a svelte 12 lbs, which is amazing since I LOVE
people food. I can sit and watch you eat for hours.

I was left behind when my humans decided to move. Luckily, I don’t hold a grudge against

I would prefer to be in a rural setting as most humans don’t understand…I love to be
talked to and I love to talk back. My favourite pastime is to go out (on a leash or in a fenced in yard) and talk to the birds, squirrels, clouds, etc. My previous owners did not understand this and scarred me with a bark collar – I never want to see one of those again.

I don’t mind sharing a household with another dog, but I do tend to want to be in control and herd other males. I can quickly learn that there’s a pecking order for treats and feeding, and there’s no grabbing.

I am told there can be no cats in my future. I just can’t settle down when they’re around, and believe they are to be chased.

I am great on car rides. I just lay down and relax. I’m ready for bed most nights at 9:30 and
sleep on my favourite chair. I do not like to be crated and tend to cry and try to dig my
way out. This is why I’d prefer to be with a family where someone is home most of
the day/night. When I am left alone I roam freely through the house, but don’t ever make
a mess. An older family (with no kids under 16) would be perfect.

I have recently had 12 teeth removed. I had already lost 14, so with the teeth I have left I will require daily dental care to keep them healthy. I was just recently neutered. This hasn’t affected my personality at all. My fosters affectionately call me
“wiggle bum”. I am just happy to be me!

All I want is love, attention, walks, food and I will follow you anywhere.

Tidal Times

The tidal bore will be coming in today at 9:27 a.m. and 10:05 p.m.

Recent Stories