Top Rams honoured at annual banquet

Staff ~ The Truro Daily News
Published on March 31, 2014
The Dalhousie Rams paid homage to their top athletes on the weekend at the school's annual athletic awards banquet. Andrew MacEwen, left, and Truro resident Emily Peters, right, were named the school's athletes of the year. Both are members of the Rams Woodsmen team. Presenting the honour was Keltie Jones, Dalhousie Agricultural Campus Assistant Dean of Students. Submitted photo

Following is a complete list of winners from the annual Dalhousie Rams athletic awards banquet Saturday at the Dalhousie Agricultural Campus in Bible Hill:

Athletes of the year

Female - Emily Peters

Male - Andrew MacEwen

Outstanding Athlete Awards

KS Marchant Award - presented to the varsity athlete with highest GPA in Degree and Technology:

Degree - Alana Bent, Amy Unicomb, Berdien Bakker, Katie McQueen and Josiah McNutt

Techology - Joan Cole

Most Valuable Players

Badminton - Adam MacKinnon

Basketball (m) - Taran Jordan

Basketball (w) - Hillary Hopper

Rugby (w) - Joan Cole

Soccer (m) - Craig MacEachern

Soccer (w) - Leah Cook

Volleyball (w) - Samantha Fanning

Woodsmen (m) - Andrew MacEwen

Woodsmen (w) - Emily Peters

Equestrian Club - Heather Creamer

Cross Country - Jonathan Crouse

Golf - Jescynda Cain-Hotham

CCAA Academic All Canadians

Leah Cook - Soccer

Craig MacEachern - Soccer

Arielle Fitzgerald - Cross Country

CCAA Athlete of the Month

Samantha Fanning - Volleyball


Badminton - Harris Bakker

Basketball (m) - Tyler MacDonald

Basketball (w) - Kasadee Allen

Rugby (w) - Stephanie Wilson

Soccer (m) - Josh Borgal

Soccer (w) - Melissa Bahri

Volleyball (w) - Katie McQueen

Woodsmen (m) - Jason Withrow

Woodsmen (w) - Breagh Ross

Most Improved Player Awards

Badminton - Erica Jackson

Basketball (m) - Marcus Robinson

Basketball (w) - Theresa Rankin

Rugby (w) - Kaylee Little

Soccer (m) - Ben Nelson

Soccer (w) - Ellen Sharp

Volleyball (w) - Melissa Mammoliti

Woodsmen (m) - James Oostvogels

Woodsmen (w) - Emily Davis

Rookie Awards

Badminton - Berdien Bakker

Basketball (m) - Devin Elsemore

Basketball (w) - Candace Reynolds

Rugby (w) - Kathleen Sterritt

Soccer (m) - Nathan Hill

Soccer (w) - Sydney Sprenger

Volleyball (w) - Thea McLachlin

Woodsmen (m) - Marco MacLeod

Woodsmen (w) - Jescynda Cain-Hotham

Equestrian - Leah Ellis

Cross Country - Ariel Fitzgerald

Golf - Lindsay Cameron

DAL AC All Academic Athletes

Women's Soccer

Alana Bent

Leah Cook

Sydney Sprenger

Men's Soccer

Nathan Hill

Craig MacEachern

Robert Matheson

Josiah McNutt

Women's Rugby

Joan Cole

Arin Douglas

Lauren Keirstead

April MacHattie

Jessica Stickney

Amy Unicomb


Luke MacKinnon

Ryland Murphy

Berdien Bakker

Women's Basketball

Kasadee Allen

Hayley Wilson

Shannon Spencer

Men's Basketball

Taran Jordan

Women's Volleyball

Rachel Hughes

Melissa Mammoliti

Katie McQueen

Fenna van Noort


Andrew MacEwen

Angus Gibson

Brad Elliott

Emily Peters

Bridget Wilson

Kamryn Findlay

Dominique Comeau

Emily Davis

ACAA All-Conference 2014


Craig MacEachern

Ben Nelson

Leah Cook

Melissa Bahri


ACAA Rookies of the Year

Luke MacKinnon

Berdien Bakker


ACAA Player of the Year - Joan Cole

Georgia Lewis

Whitney Shaver

Jessica Stickney

Becky Blank

Jessica MacAskill

Kathleen Sterritt


ACAA Rookie of the Year - Thea McLachlin

Samantha Fanning

Thea McLachlin

Cross Country

Arielle Fitzgerald

Logan Grant

CILA (Canadian Intercollegiate Lumberjacking Association) Most Valuable Player

Emily Peters

Fourth Year Varsity Athletes


Becky Blank

Joan Cole

Jessica Stickney

Jessika MacAskill


Hillary Hopper


Breagh Ross

Andrew MacEwen

Jason Withrow

William McCallum

Bridget Wilson

Emily Peters


Robert Matheson

William Hannah

Alyx MacDonald

Fifth Year Varsity Athletes

Kent Mader - Soccer

Evan Rafuse - Woodsmen

Georgia Lewis - Rugby

Melissa Bahri - Soccer and Badminton