Truro tennis juniors and men battle to draw

Jim Power
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

TRURO - When the Truro Tennis Club first opened in 1868, town appointments consisted of the "lamplighter and the fence viewer," and Truro's one-man police force earned $1 per day. Israel Longworth, Truro's second mayor, started the club on Longworth Avenue.

To commemorate some of this history, the junior men recently challenged the senior men to a King of the Courts Tournament.

Points were awarded for attendance, wearing club colours, and for victories in matches and skills competitions.

The two sides battled to a draw in a final competition full of suspense.

With the men leading 780-548 the teams entered the final tennis pinball event.

In this game, all players were to bounce a ball on their rackets as long as they could.

The last person standing would win 250 points for his team and the championship.

After an hour and 33 minutes, the juniors' Jeff Mantin and Sam Lycan for the seniors were still battling. To increase the difficulty, players had to hit the ball at least eight feet high.

Lycan's ball went wild and fell to the court and at the same time Mantin hit a ball that was only 6.5 feet high.

Since neither had won outright the game was ruled incomplete. It was called a "friendly" and neither team was declared the winner of the tournament.

The men jumped out to an early 60-58 lead for better attendance and wearing club colours, then increased that lead by winning 8-4 in the singles matches.

The match of the tournament was the Peter Keaveney battle with 2007 junior club champion Aled Iaboni.

Keaveney was staggered by nine match points, but won the decision in a tiebreaker.

Other seniors winning their matches were: Sid MacIsaac over Doug Iaboni, 6-0; Bruce Wright over Connor Keaveney, 6-0; Kevin Mantin over Leif Power, 6-2; Silvano Iaboni over Jeff Mantin, 6-3; George Flemming over Shane Stanton, 6-3; Munish Annand over Dane Richards, 6-1; Don Flynn over Steven Stanton, 6-2.

Junior victories were achieved by Dennis Keaveney as he defeated Glenn Ross, 6-1; Jonathon Munroe came back from 4-1 down to defeat Doug Edwards, 6-4; Jeff Mantin beat Sam Lycan 6-3; and Nigel Power got past Steven Dukeshire 6-4 in a slugfest.

The competitions will be continued in 2008, the 140th anniversary of the club, and will feature seniors who are one year older against juniors who are one year better.

Organizations: Truro Tennis Club

Geographic location: Longworth Avenue

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page