Returning officers appointed for Colchester area

Truro Daily News
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

TRURO – Three local residents are among 51 returning officers appointed to manage provincial elections and plebiscites.

Sharon O’Leary (Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley), Lorraine Dawson (Colchester North) and Christine Blair (Truro-Bible Hill) have been appointed to 10-year terms.

Changes to the Nova Scotia Elections Act introduced last year led to these appointments being made independent of government for the first time.

Chief Electoral Officer Richard Temporale announced Thursday the appointment of returning officers for each electoral district in the province following a merit-based competition held over the past six months.

“The primary duty of returning officers is to run electoral events in their electoral districts,” said Temporale, in a news release. “In addition to those many and varied tasks, during an electoral period, returning officers must also be free to participate in a variety of activities between electoral events. They receive briefings on any changes to legislation and training in new procedures. They also participate in special projects and consultations between elections, and participate at technical development sessions.”

Elections Nova Scotia has been conducting operational training of prospective returning officers over the past few months in preparation for these appointments. 

The inauguration of returning officers, presentation of appointment certificates by the Lieutenant-Governor, and the official administration of the oath of office is scheduled for 9 a.m., January 23, 2013 at the Red Chamber of Province House.



Organizations: Red Chamber of Province House

Geographic location: Nova Scotia, Colchester, Colchester North

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page