Top News

Millbrook chief seeking fourth term

Millbrook Chief Bob Gloade.
Millbrook Chief Bob Gloade. - SaltWire Network

Thirty-three candidates throwing their hats in the ring for band council positions

MILLBROOK, N.S. – A total of 33 candidates will be vying for 12 council positions when the Millbrook First Nations band members go to the polls on Feb. 26.

Chief Bob Gloade, who has served three terms so far, is hoping to retain the top band position. He is being challenged by one contender, Lisa Marshall, who is completing her first term as a band councillor.

All other incumbent council members will be trying to retain their seats.

“It’s something I care about and am passionate about,” Gloade said, of serving as chief.

“There’s still a lot more work to do,” he added, regarding a number of band projects that are in the planning stages.

“Economic development is a key priority for us.”

One of the largest projects in the works from that perspective is the development of Shannon Park, a former military community on the eastern shore of Halifax Harbour.

“It’s a mixture of residential, commercial and recreational,” Gloade said. “We’re in the planning stages right now of what it’s going to look like.”

Gloade said that development is to be completed within a five- to 10-year span at a total investment of about $200 million.

There are also ongoing economic development projects at the Truro Power Centre, including completion of a new strip mall.

Millbrook First Nation has a total of approximately 1,780 band members, with 900 living on reserve and 880 living off reserve lands.

The band’s reserve lands include sites in Millbrook, Cole Harbour, Sheet Harbour and Beaver Dam.

Candidates for chief:

Bob Gloade (incumbent)

Lisa Marshall

Council candidates:

Jane Abram

Carla K. Asprey

Colin Alexander Bernard (incumbent)

Natasha Bernard

Tammy Bernard

Bryan Brooks (incumbent)

Alex Cope (incumbent)

Adrian Gloade (incumbent)

Barry Gloade

Garrett Gloade

Gerald Donovan Gloade

Peter Gloade (incumbent)

Vernon Gloade

Theresa (Wilmot) Hardgrave

Doug Johnson

Gord Johnson

Lloyd Douglas Johnson (incumbent)

Zachary Julian

Keith L. Julian Jr.

Pius Knockwood

Justine Maloney

Linda (Cookie) Maloney

Markie Lucius Ward (incumbent)

Stephen Marshal (incumbent)

Barry Morris Martin, Sr., (incumbent)

Justin Paul Martin

Chris Nasson (incumbent)

Ella Paul

John “Jack” Paul

Margaret Philllips

Michael Paul Stephens (incumbent)

Heather Stephens

James Louis Stevens



Recent Stories