Tibbo, Hughes to skate with the Rams

Bearcats teammates to pursue post-secondary education in Toronto

Published on July 13, 2017

Kyle Tibbo and Brandon Hughes were key players for the Truro Bearcats last season and helped the team win the Maritime Junior Hockey League title. Now, they are taking their talents to Ryerson University in Toronto where they will suit up for the Rams.

©Truro Daily News file photos

TRURO, N.S. – Truro Bearcats teammates Kyle Tibbo and Brandon Hughes are moving on to Canadian university hockey in Ontario.

The forwards will lace up the blades at Ryerson University in Toronto, beginning this fall.

Tibbo was the Maritime Junior Hockey League player of the year in 2016-17. As captain of the Bearcats, he led the club in scoring with 48 goals and 88 points. He added 21 points in 17 playoff games to lead Truro to the league title, his second with the Bearcats after winning it as a rookie in 2013-14.

The native of Conception Bay South, NL, was also the MHL Character Award winner.

He will study business at Ryerson.

Hughes spent the past two seasons with the Bearcats. The Oakville, Ont., native finished second on the club in scoring with 64 points in 50 regular season games in 2016-17. He went on to register 22 points in 17 playoff games.

He will enter Ryerson’s business management program in the fall.

The Ryerson Rams play in the Ontario University Athletics conference. The Rams enjoyed a record-setting season in 2016-17 and put up the most points in school history (46), most wins (22), most goals (136) and fewest goals allowed (76).

They lost to the Windsor Lancers in two straight games in the OUA West semifinals.

Tibbo and Hughes are the latest in a group of MHL players to announce post-secondary education commitments.

Others are Alex Mann, Yarmouth (Carleton University), Max Robitaille, Yarmouth (Plymouth State University), Lee Dower, Miramichi (University of Waterloo), Jarred Toole, Woodstock (Royal Military College), Andrew Shewfelt, Amherst (Dalhousie University), Joey Richard, Dieppe (Université de Moncton) and Frederic Foulem, Dieppe (University of Toronto).