Horsemen honour their best

Staff ~ The Truro Daily News
Published on March 31, 2014
Brookfield’s Ryan Ellis, left, was named the Truro Harness Horse Owner’s Association driver of the year with more than 100 starts Saturday at the association’s annual banquet at the Truro Horsemen’s Club. Ellis posted 45 wins in 160 starts in 2013 for his third consecutive driving title at Truro Raceway. The awards honoured harness racing achievements at the Bible Hill oval in 2013. Presenting the award was Bruce Kennedy. Lynn Curwin – Special to the Truro Daily News

Following is a complete list of winners from the annual Truro Harness Horse Owner's Association banquet Saturday at the Truro Horsemen's Club in Bible Hill:

Two-year-old colt of the year


Owner: Don Smith

Trainer/Driver: Darren Crowe

Two-year-old filly of the year

I C Anastro

Owned/Trained by Steve Morton

Three-year-old colt of the year

The Rev

Owners: Bob & Jeff Skinner, the GLB Stable

Trainer/Driver: Danny Romo

Three-year-old filly of the year

Whisty's Paradise

Owner: Chris Laffin

Trainer: Blair Laffin

Driver: Ernie Laffin

Claiming horse of the year

Weird Albert

Owner/Trainer: Devin O'Connor

Claiming Mare of the year

Lady McCardle

Owned/trained/driven by Dave Carey

Horse of the year

St. Lads Dagwood

Owner/Trainer: Kenny Greene

Driver: Ernie Laffin

Aged mare of the year

Whisty's Pride

Owner: Lloyd Nelson

Trainer: Blair Laffin

Most improved horse

Neigh Monster

Owners: Chantel Gillis, Eddie Ellis & Fred Buffet

Trainer: Joe Gillis

Jim Chamber's Sportsmanship Awards

Trainer: Owen Fletcher

Driver: Jim Ripley

Senior horseman of the year

Eddie Ellis

Horsewoman of the year

Pam Moore

Grooms of the year

Chantel Gillis & Norm Atkinson

Junior horse people of the year

Faith Ramsey & Anthony Croft

3D Award

Bernard "Pooker" McCallum

Horseperson merit award

Rosanne Langille

Owner of the year award

Cindy Christie

Special recognition award

Matt Veno

Rookie of the year

Mark Whidden

Driver of the year over 50 starts but under 100 starts

Hilliard Graves

Driver of the year over 100 starts

Ryan Ellis

Trainer of the year over 50 starts but under 100 starts

Bernard "Pooker" McCallum & Danny Romo

Trainer of the year over 100 starts

Jonah Moase

High percentage driver award

Ryan Ellis

Nova Scotia Stake Series Award Winners

Waterside Light owned by Hilliard Graves

Pictonian Sareta owned by Daniel Ross

Mijian Magic owner by Mary Lee & Jim Ripley

West River Excel owned by Clare & Kenny MacDonald