Truro hosting provincial mixed doubles, stick curling championships

Published on February 18, 2014
Truro Curling Club will host the Nova Scotia mixed doubles and stick curling championships this weekend. Members of the host committees recently gathered at the club to iron out details for the events. From left, Gary Westoll (chairman of the host mixed doubles committee); Ted Lohnes (chairman of the host stick committee); and Ray Shillington and Ron Crowe (members of the host stick committee).
Joey Smith - Truro Daily News

TRURO - Truro Curling Club will be a hive of activity this weekend when two provincial tournaments rock the facility.

The local club will host Nova Scotia championships for stick and doubles events Friday to Sunday.

The provincial doubles championship will include 12 teams vying for a spot at the Canadian championship in Ottawa in March.

This is just the second year for the mixed doubles event, and Gary Westoll, chairman of the host committee, said he is thrilled to have it in the Hubtown.

"It's great to host it in Truro because it's a new event, a different kind of curling and it's just great to get other people from other clubs into our club," said Westoll. "It brings in a little extra revenue and it's competitive curling, so it's fun to watch."

The team of Jonathan Crouse and Sarah Sears is the lone duo to represent the host club. The Hilden father-daughter entry of Dave and Taylor Clarke is representing the Bluenose club, while Truro's Kelly MacIntosh, runner-up at last month's provincial Scotties, is teaming up with Dave Backman to form a team out of the Chester Curling Club.

"There are some provincial-caliber teams here from the men's Tankard side and the women's Scotties side," said Westoll.

"I think people will find it entertaining," he added. "There's no charge or admission, so it's easy for people just to walk off the street and come in and enjoy it."

The 18-team provincial stick event will be held simultaneously with the mixed championship. It will be Truro's third time hosting in the tournament's eight-year existence.

"We're centrally located in the province so it gives us a step up there, and we have the experience, so it's a good logical thing to do, so we bid for it and we were successful," said Ted Lohnes, chairman of the host committee.

Truro has six teams entered, while Yarmouth has five and Lakeshore has four at the open event.

"I'd say a third of the teams that come here for this event are coming for the social aspect," Lohnes, a two-time champion, said. "They know they can't win, but they're having fun, and then the other two-thirds think they have a chance to win."

The top four teams from the provincial championship earn berths at the Maritime tournament in March in Oromocto, N.B. The Canadian open championship will take place in late March and early April in St. Albert, Alta.

N.S. mixed doubles curling championship

Where: Truro Curling Club

When: Feb. 21 to 23.

On the line: Berth at national championship in Ottawa in March.

Schedule: Opening draw - Friday, 9:30 a.m. Tournament continues all day Saturday and Sunday with the final set for Sunday at 4:30 p.m.


Nick Barr/Michelle Williams, Lakeshore

Dave Clarke/Taylor Clarke, Bluenose

Travis Colter/Julia Williams, NSCA

Ben Creaser/Laura Kennedy, NSCA

Jonathan Crouse/Sarah Sears, Truro

Jamie Danbrook/Katarina Hankansson, Mayflower

Dillon O'Leary/Jane Snyder, NSCA

Kevin Saccary/Nancy McConnery, Dartmouth

Travis Stone/Amanda Simpson, Sydney

Tom Sullivan/Mary-Anne Arsenault, Mayflower

Kelly MacIntosh/Dave Backman, Chester

Jill Thomas/Nelson Rice, CFB Halifax

Past champions

2013 - Mark Dacey/Heather Smith-Dacey, Mayflower


N.S. stick curling championship

Where: Truro Curling Club

When: Feb. 21 to 23.

On the line: Sullivan Cup. Top four teams advance to Maritime championship in Oromocto, N.B. in March.

Schedule: Opening draw - Friday, 11:30 a.m. Tournament continues all day Saturday and Sunday with the final set for Sunday at 4:30 p.m.


Keith Bennett/Carl Duggan, Lakeshore

Wayne Fitzgerald/Dave Power, Lakeshore

Bart Herd/Rick MacLeod, Lakeshore

George Horning/Linda Stirling, Lakeshore

Pauline Bullerwell/Diane Mallinson, Yarmouth

Dave MacDougall/Paul Doucet, Yarmouth

Terry Murphy/John Ainsworth, Yarmouth

Fred Richardson/Paul Simms, Yarmouth

Amanda Simpson/Travis Stone, Yarmouth

Joe Hickman/Cal McMillan, Wolfville

Hubert Sullivan/Rob Sterling, Wolfville

Haylett Clarke/John MacNaughton, Bluenose

Lorne Breckon/Ray Thibault, Truro

Ted Lohnes/George Richards, Truro

Mike Nowlan/Shirley Nowlan, Truro

Ray Shillington/Bill MacLeod, Truro

Jack Welcher/Roy Fancy, Truro

Past champions

2013 - Ron Crowe/Bill Spinney, Truro

2012 - Ron Crowe/Bill Spinney, Truro

2011 - Dave MacDougal/Terry Murphy, Yarmouth

2010 - Wayne Gorman/Brian Rafuse, Lakeshore

2009 - Ted Lohnes/Ron Crowe, Truro

2008 - Wayne Gorman/Carl Duggan

2007 - Ted Lohnes/Bill Spinney, Truro